Songs of Asaph: Mountains on the Ocean Floor (Andrew Peterson)


#12. MOUNTAINS ON THE OCEAN FLOOR
Andrew Peterson

Oftentimes our own sins or the sins of others seem too deep and all signs of change invisible to our mortal eyes, but for those of us in Christ we cling in faith to the promise “he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion” even when we can’t see Him working. And for those outside of Christ we are given hope too for “the Spirit moves where it wills”. We often our unable to see the working of the Holy Spirit, it’s like “mountains on the ocean floor”–one day we’ll see the fruit but for now, “only God can see it grow”.

Miss my introduction to my “Sons/Songs of Asaph” series? Catch up here.
Miss my introduction to Andrew Peterson? Read it here.

(Lyrics)

My uncle’s in the county jail
His time is on his hands
He knows he chose a barren cell
Over a fair and fertile land

He took another hit
He hit another high
He flew until he fell
Just like he has a thousand times

Nothing ever seems to change
But miles away beneath the waves

There are mountains
Mountains on the ocean floor
They’re rising from the deep
But no one ever sees
No one ever sees

I can’t believe I landed there
I swear I swore it off
I know that I can’t stand it here
Still I came and took a fall

I wish that I could shake it
I wish that I was free
I wish that I was half the man
I wish that I could be

There are mountains
Mountains on the ocean floor
They’re moving up so slow
No one ever knows
No one ever knows

Nothing ever seems to change
But miles away beneath the waves
Down below the dirt
Hotter than a flame
In the belly of the earth
He has given you a Name

There are mountains
Mountains on the ocean floor
They’re rising from the deep
Where no one ever sees
There are mountains
They’re hidden there beneath the waves
They’re moving up so slow
No one ever knows
There’s a molten heart of stone
That is waiting to explode
Only God can see it grow

Buy “Mountains on the Ocean Floor” here!

Leave a Reply

