#onelasttime


Last night, along with 30 other friends and friends of friends, I saw the final Hobbit film: The Battle of the Five Armies.

One day my children will ask me about the day I went and saw the first showing of the last Tolkien film in theaters on Tuesday the 16th, the year of our Lord, 2,014.

wpid-20141216_191810_1_1.jpg

And I will tell them how I never said goodbye.

Growing Up with the Hobbit When the first movie came out, Brother-Dear was 14 and I was 18. For the second we were 15 and 19, and for the third we are 16 and 20.

Growing Up with the Hobbit
When the first movie came out, Brother-Dear was 14 and I was 18.
For the second we were 15 and 19, and for the third we are 16 and 20.

I am not planning on giving a review of the film any time soon, partly because there are so many reviews already, partly because of the tight schedule of the holidays, partly because I take a long time to process stories, and partly because I Just Can’t.

I largely agree with this review by my favorite source on all things Tolkien. If you want a general, spoiler-free review hop on over to A Tolkienist Perspective and read it.

Posts here are going to be scarce this month so I’ll go ahead and wish y’all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from Living In Heaven’s Shadow!

captured_by_snapseed_2_3

(In Dwarvish Runes, cause I can.)

See y’all in January!

4 thoughts on “#onelasttime

  1. Wonderful post … many thanks for sharing your experience! 🙂

    I must say I felt pretty much the same way. It became something of a tradition during Christmas time to go out and “see a Middle-earth film” – something that had started way back in 2001.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

