Speech & Literature Appreciation Class for Children


Last fall, I had the wonderful privilege of teaching a literature appreciation class to 7 students between the ages of 4 and 13. Over seven weeks they memorized the poem “Daybreak” by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and become familiar with seven of Aesop’s Fables. At the end of the course, I hosted a tea party for all my classes, and my students had the opportunity to show their parents what they had learned. They each recited their favorite Aesop Fables and quoted the poem together. Some of my students even dressed up in full costume for their “speeches.” We all had a blast.

20151104_114715-01_frame


Starting on February 3rd, I will be offering this class again with a new poem and seven different fables from Aesop.

Class details are as follows:

Who: children ages 3-13, I accept both reading and non-reading students.

Where: my subdivision clubhouse in Conroe, TX (address given upon request)

When: 30 minutes on Wednesdays, Feb 3rd-Mar. 23rd, time slots to be determined. (On Mar. 23rd, I will host a tea party* with all classes combined as a time of fun and an opportunity for students to show parents what they have learned.)

What: Through the course of the 7-week class, students will memorize the poem “My Shadow” by Robert Louis Stevenson and become familiar with 7 of Aesop’s Fables.

I will be teaching proper articulation and delivery as well as leading students in a thematic analysis and discussion of the literature we are reading.

Below is an outline of the class and class objectives**

WEEK 1
First paragraph of My Shadow
The Fox in the Well
Focus: speaking clearly/not mumbling, pre-reading

WEEK 2
5th and 6th lines of My Shadow
The Wind and the Sun
Focus: speed

WEEK 3
7th and 8th lines of My Shadow
The Fox and the Goat
Focus: volume

WEEK 4
9th and 10th lines of My Shadow
The Blind Man and the Lame Man
Focus: eye contact

WEEK 5
11th and 12th lines of My Shadow
The Boasting Traveler
Focus: rhythm

WEEK 6
13th and 14th lines of My Shadow
The Robin and the Sparrow
Focus: delivery posture/hand motions

WEEK 7
15th and 16th lines of My Shadow
The Man and his Dogs
Focus: polish

WEEK 8
Tea Party and recitation!

How Much: I charge $96 per student for the 8 weeks (the tea party counts as a class) paid at the first class. If you have a student in the piano class I will discount to $80 for the 8 weeks paid at the first class. ***

Have a younger child that you’re not sure is ready for the class? Try a one-class risk-free trial. If at the end of the class you decide your child is not ready, the day’s class is free for that child.

*I ask students to each bring a snack. I will provide
sandwiches and tea.

**Parents, if you have any potential objections to the content of the class please closely examine the poem and fables I have presented here prior to signing up for the class. Since I have fully disclosed the content of my class I cannot be held responsible for objections to content during or after the class.

***Please note that this discount is only available in advance.

REGISTER AT PIANOPRIMERCLASS@GMAIL.COM

Leave a Reply

